I tried this restaurant recently to have lunch with a colleague. It is conveniently located just across the road from the French ministry of health, also within chauffeured distance of various organisations: the German ambassador to the Unesco was entertaining there on the day we went.

I watched the restaurant fill after an early arrival and a warm welcome. When my colleague arrived, he went for an 18 euro formule including a starter and a dish of pasta, while I settled for a 35 euro menu with a starter, a main and a dessert. Our starters (a carrot soup for both of us) arrived quickly, although I might have expected appetizers of some sort for this kind of price. I then had a beef tartare: the meat was really nice, if a little bit too peppery, but the sautéed potatoes served with it were frankly too scant to make a really good impression. Dessert was also fairly acceptable (strawberry soup with ice cream) but at the end of this meal, I really felt the asking price was far too high.

My verdict: for this kind of money, I think you are entitled to a little bit more creativity, which we got in expensive London (along with better ingredients and service).

41 avenue de Ségur 75007 Paris

