Recently on a cold November day, I met up with two former colleagues for a long lunch at this trendy Paris restaurant, the younger sibling to the prestigious two star Michelin restaurant, Senderens.

The entrance is located in the passage de la Madeleine (just right next to the watch shop where I bought my trusty Longines), where you will have to ring and announce yourself.

After climbing up a set of stairs, we were led to the elegant dining room, from which I was able to enjoy pleasant views over the place de la Madeleine. The food was very refined, not too heavy, including an excellent venison pâté and a nice take on the rhum baba. Service was relatively friendly, with a waiter complimenting me on my wallet and offering the possibility to share a glass of a velvety (but quite expensive at 19 euros) 2005 Gevrey Chambertin from Geantet-Pansiot.

Overall, the level of noise was quite low, which makes it a good location for lunch (36 euros for three courses) or dinner (39 euros for four courses with two starters), provided you reserve in advance.

