carpo

Some of you already know I’m a bit of a Graze addict. However, there’s a new kid on the block, and I’ll definitely be checking them out the next time I’m in London (approximately July 27th). Carpo, which is located in Piccadilly, purports to sell the finest snacks from across the world, and as I’m a sucker for dried fruit and nuts in various combinations, I shall be very interested indeed to see what they offer.

In Greek Mythology, Carpo was the goddess tasked with ripening and harvesting fruit in autumn and providing food for the people. It is this that has driven the philosophy and offer at the new store, with myriad choice of healthy treats prepared using products harvested at the peak of their ripeness to ensure amazing taste. Quality and seasonality are all important, with particular care taken that products only arrive in the store when at their absolute prime.According to their website, their most intriguing selections so far appear to be their dried chickpea snacks, along with the mysteriously-named Tiger and Juanita snacks. As for the fruits, I can’t wait to try the Spanish grapes and the Golden Incas. Not to mention the array of dried mushrooms that I can use in my Italian and Asian cooking – shiitake and agariko mushrooms grace their shelves, to name but a few. There’s also a range of chocolate, coffee and honey to explore – in short, enough to keep our household going for months. A number of the products are sourced from Greece, where the company itself also originates (the flagship store opened in Athens in 2011), seeking to revive Greece’s economic fortunes and enrich the British palate simultaneously. What’s not to like?

While the firm doesn’t (yet) offer delivery to our doors, this means it probably can’t quite replace Graze in my affections. However, I look forward to it taking its place alongside – and will be sure to report back once I’ve had a chance to visit in July.

