Following my recent posts on Pimm’s and the virtues of ginger, this next post (a fusion of the two) is probably no real surprise.

I love ginger and need no excuse to consume it. Now I’ve found a new way in which to do so – and it’s a perfect non-alcoholic summer alternative to the Pimm’s.

This, my friends, is ginger juice, and it’s a Chinese classic. My continued love affair with the food of Ching-He Huang means I unceremoniously have swiped the (very simple) recipe below from her book. She serves it warm with a chilli and lime crab noodle dish, but I thought that as it was summer, an iced version would be more appropriate (as in the picture above – which sadly was not taken by me).

All you need to do is chop a 2-centimetre piece of ginger and bring up to boiling point in a saucepan of 500ml of water and two dessertspoons of brown sugar. Once you’ve reached boiling point, turn the heat right down and simmer for 5 minutes. Ching then serves it warm at this point, but I strained it and left it to cool before putting it in the fridge. A couple of hours’ refrigeration is fine, but overnight is even better. Goes brilliantly with food or just with itself – it’s refreshing, spicy, sweet and deliciously different.

I suppose you could jazz it up further with other flavours, such as lemon, lime, or coriander, but I decided to leave well alone and just stick with the classic recipe. Gan bei!*

*(“Cheers!” in Mandarin. My uncle, who’s lived in China for three years now, reliably informs me that “gan bei” is the most important phrase anyone going to do business in China can know.)

